Factsheet 2012


1165.9 million CHF

Member states

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovak republic, Spain, Sweden

Dates of accession 

Candidate for accession


Observer states

European Commission, India, Japan, Russian Federation, Turkey, UNESCO and US

Associate member state in the pre-stage to membership

Israel (from September 2011), Serbia (from December 2011)


Member states normalized contributions (% total budget) in 2012

Austria 2.19
Belgium 2.85
Bulgaria 0.28
Czech Republic 0.98
Denmark 1.83
Finland 1.39
France 15.52
Germany 20.25
Greece 1.64
Hungary 0.63
Italy 11.15
Netherlands 4.59
Norway 2.48
Poland 2.90
Portugal 1.25
Slovak Republic 0.48
Spain 8.11
Sweden 2.75
Switzerland 5.15
United Kingdom 13.58
Candidate for Accession Normalized contributions (%)
Romania 0.34
Serbia 0.09

CERN Council

President of Council: Michel Spiro (France)
Chairman of the scientific committee: Fabio Zwirner (Italy)
Chairman of the finance committee: Björn Jacobsen (Norway)

CERN Management

Position Name
Director-General Rolf-Dieter Heuer
Director for Research and Scientific Computing Sergio Bertolucci
Director for Accelerators and Technology Stephen Myers
Director for Administration and General Infrastructure Sigurd Lettow
Head of International Relations Felicita Pauss
Directorate Office Isabel Béjar Alonso
Directorate Office Ewa Rondio
Directorate Office Emmanuel Tsesmelis
Communication James Gillies
EU Project Office Svetlomir Stavrev
Internal Audit Laure Esteveny
Knowledge and Technology Transfer Thierry Lagrange
Legal Service Eva-Maria Gröniger-Voss
Relations with Host States Friedemann Eder
Occupational Health and Safety and Environmental Protection Unit Ralf Trant
VIP and Protocol Office Wendy Korda
Resources planning, processes and controlling Florian Sonnemann


Beams Paul Collier
Engineering Roberto Saban
Finance and procurement Thierry Lagrange
General infrastructure services Thomas Pettersson
Human resources Anne-Sylvie Catherin
Information technology Frédéric Hemmer
Physics Philippe Bloch
Technology Frédérick Bordry

Project management

Linear Collider Studies (CLIC and LCS) Steinar Stapnes
Worldwide LHC Computing Grid (WLCG) Ian Bird
Linear Collider Detector Lucie Linssen
High Luminosity LHC (HL-LHC) Lucio Rossi
LHC Injectors Upgrades (LIU) Roland Garoby


Staff members as of 31 December 2011 (includes externally funded): 2424

Other members of personnel


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s